travel tales

Camino – Rates

8b447-dsc00089_3_2-767597

Here I am in Rates at the end of my first proper walking day. This is also my first Albergue (pilgrim hostel). It’s spectacular! Spacious, welcoming and with a gorgeous walled garden.

I’d be tempted to stay but it’s only my ‘home for a day’ as the sign, so sweetly, says.

Excellent walking today, especially the last 6km. I came out of the woods and down to a little bridge crossing the Rio Este. Just the most stunning stretch of water running through lush, green fields, and up on a little hill sat the pretty village of Arcos. It already seems like a dream and I only saw it a few hours ago!

Adeus for now

Pequeño Peregrina
Portugal

Leave a Reply

