gaia-love

Shopping

I’m off to the farmer’s market for the first time in ages. I’m looking forward to picking up some lovely, local produce for The Big Lunch tomorrow. I really enjoy the experience of shopping at the market: the opportunity to chat and laugh with the folk who actually made the pie, baked the bread or dug the potato out of the ground. Obviously not all stall holders are jolly and only a top quality product would draw me back in those cases (the butter women are a good example of the fine product/grumpy purveyor scenario).

Some stalls are there all year round (like Findlater’s or Falko Konditormeister) but others are seasonal. Oh, the pleasure of finding that the tomato ladies are back or the mushroom man or those lovely folk with the heritage spuds!

I try to buy local as much as i can. Local, organic and/or fairtrade. I’m a firm believer in using my purchases to make a point. Consumer power is a real and powerful force and i ALWAYS try to put my money where my mouth is. I’ve never enjoyed shopping. However, now that so many ethical products are available i find myself prey to shopping addiction for the first time in my life: Organic or fairtrade bananas? Buy both; That pot is a bit expensive. But it was made by a local artisan potter; Ooh! That top is made from fairly traded organic bamboo fibres. I must have three! I can bypass shoppers remorse with ethical purchasing. Add a charity credit card and 24 hour online shopping and a girl could find herself in deep trouble! 🙂

Leave a Reply

