Uncategorized

Learning

I have just discovered iTunes U – an educational resource available for free via the iTunes store.  I love to learn and it’s great to be able to do so while, simultaneously, lounging and twiddling online.  I’m currently listening to a lecture on Gilgamesh from Harrisburg Community College in the USA.  It is pretty idyllic just now.  The sun has come out so I’m learning, twiddling and soaking up the rays all at once.

Clay tablet with portion of Epic of Gilgamesh; britannica.com

This is why I love the interweb.  I have no doubt mentioned this before but I value this thing so much.  It is a priceless treasure. To all intents and purposes, I have access to all human knowledge at the tips of my fingers.  Click and I can read the Epic of Gilgamesh.  Click and here’s the ancient Celtic poem y Gododdin.  Or, click, Twitter, the most up-to-the-minute glimpse of what’s happening in the world.

I can learn languages with the aid of video or podcasts.  I can view the collections of museums and galleries on the other side of the world.  I can use sites like Urban dictionary to find the meaning of net-acronyms and webspeak (and never need to ask).  As a trained information professional (oh yes) I am aware that I can’t necessarily believe everything I read online but I know to consider where the info is coming from.  The point is, the information is there.  All human knowledge is here.

Harrisburg College has moved on to a lecture on the Celtic Goddess Brigid.  Love it! 

1 thought on “Learning”

  1. wohh yeah I should have a look at iTunesU.. great idea!

    Universities have to contribute a percentage of free learning material on it to use it for free for themselves, so there should be a fair bit of decent stuff! I'm gonna go have a gander!

    Like

Leave a Reply

