Uncategorized

Lughnasadh


Van Gogh The Harvest at La Crau  picturalissim.com

Happy Lughnasadh!  Although, to be honest, this is my least favourite of the cross-quarter days.  It signifies, to me, the end of summer and the approach of winter (darkness and SAD – yuk).  Also, I just, realise it is exactly one week after my birthday.  I am another year older yet cake and presents have become just a memory.  Combined with the awful imminence of the Edinburgh Festival, is it any wonder I’m hard pressed to muster a celebratory air on this day?

And yet, the summer is not over.  The sun is shining and there are still weeks of long days and (prospective) sunshine to come.  Soon the harvests will start and later there will be juicy-sweet apples and pears.  A year or so ago I undertook to stop looking forward to up-coming events and festivities while ignoring what was happening in the moment.  To stop ‘wishing my life away’.  It is just as important to avoid allowing negative future events to shadow pleasant days in between.  So, it is Sunday, the first day of August.  The sun is out, my garden is full of ripe, red raspberries and my fridge full of produce fresh from the farmer’s market.  The day is my own to do with as I please.

Happy Lughnasadh!

2 thoughts on “Lughnasadh”

  1. Wonderful – Enjoy what is cause thats all there is!

    Oh sorry I missed you Birthday!
    But if you will indulge me in a trip to the past and future…
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY and many more….

    Like

  2. Thanks for your kind words Marilyn. I'm happy you enjoyed your retreat but I'm glad you're back in the world 🙂

    I'd love to hear about it if you have time. Email or message me?

    Like

Leave a Reply

