Uncategorized

#CapInHand – censorship and the #IndyRef

For several months there has been an online campaign to Get The Proclaimers Cap In Hand To Number 1 in time for the Independence Referendum vote. I wasn’t too bothered about it until the other day when I heard that the song has been mysteriously absent from the airwaves. This despite being top of the Amazon download chart for a while (I saw it there myself).

Thanks to an investigative citizen, we learned that this 26 year old tune has recently been added to the UK Government’s list of banned songs
banned!?!
Lies, disrespect and fear-mongering have been daily features of the Unionist campaign so I was unsurprised by this evidence of outright censorship. However, it did still rile me somewhat.
For this reason I encouraged any who would listen to:

“buy [the song], open yer windaes wide and blast Cap in Hand into the streets!”

…Which I have happily been doing for two or three days now…
So far the government cersors have failed to reach every corner of the interweb. Here are the song and lyrics for your delectation – and possible corruption (they are banned, after all!)

Cap in Hand
I could tell the meaning of a word like serene
I got some ‘O’ Grades when I was sixteen
I can tell the difference between magarine and butter
I can say “Saskatchewan” without starting to stutter 

But I can’t understand why we let someone else rule our land, cap in hand 

I could get a broken jaw from being in a fight
I know it’s evening when day turns to night
I can understand why Stranraer lies so lowly
They could save a lot of points by signing Hibs’ Goalie 

But I can’t understand why we let someone else rule our land, cap in hand 

We fight – when they ask us
We boast – then we cower
We beg
For a piece of
What’s already ours 

Once I thought I could make God a bribe
So I said I was in his lost tribe
Getting handouts can be so frustrating
“Get in line son, there’s five million waiting”

I can’t understand why you let someone else rule your land, cap in hand
I can’t understand why we let someone else rule our land, cap in hand
I can’t understand why you let someone else rule your land, cap in hand

Cap In Hand
The Proclaimers
Sunshine On Leith
1988 Chrysalis Records 

Leave a Reply

