other stuff

How to be happy and healthy (or a close approximation thereof)

Here’s Laci Green on healthy eating and body image:

The diet she describes is quite similar to the one I’ve adopted over the last few years – especially the “eating mainly plants” part. It’s been a bit harder, over the winter, to get sufficient in-season vegetation but I’m starting to increase veggies again (and decrease simple and processed carbohydrates) as we move towards spring.

I’ve also gone back to running, I walk at least 2 miles most days and, as the daylight hours increase, I’ll probably start cycling to the station again.

I discovered the joy of exercise fairly recently. I always hated it when I was a kid, even faking my period to get out of PE as often as I could manage.

However, a couple of years ago I began training for a charity walk. I incorporated exercise into my everyday life and the resulting changes to my body (and mind) were so impressive, so enjoyable, I wanted to keep it going. Also, around a year ago, I changed my diet too.

Obviously I’m not perfect – far from it – but I am fitter, stronger and generally more healthy than I’ve been at any time in my life before. Even after a few months downtime I haven’t reverted to couch potato status. I maintained an acceptable level of fitness over the winter and my weight, though it always fluctuates, hasn’t been much of a problem. I feel happy and confident inside my own body.

Exercise hasn’t done much to protect my psyche from the stresses and strains of life. However, a long, brisk walk is a great way to burn off stress; a sharp uphill cycle followed by a long sweeping downhill is a lovely end to the day; and running, though I never in my life thought I’d say this, is a fantastic way to spend a half hour in the woods.

1 thought on “How to be happy and healthy (or a close approximation thereof)”

Leave a Reply

