storytelling

A good day

I had such a good day today! I woke fairly early but had no reason to get up, so I just lay in bed reading til around 9am. I arose and pottered round the house, in and out of the garden, had a lovely brunch then pottered some more.

At some point during the morning I found a Clan to affiliate myself with (I never had a clan before). Clan Chattan is a “confederation of Clans” – which I like the sound of. Their symbol is a wildcat and their motto is:

“Touch not the cat bot a glove”

– “bot” meaning without. This is sage advice indeed. There is a vague association with my surname so, I have decided to adopt this Cat Clan Confederation as my own.

Teo phoned at lunchtime to invite me skiing (coz that’s how we roll). By the time he picked me up the sun was shining and the sky was blue. The warmest day we’ve had in months – a perfect skiing day in fact  🙂

Skiing on the main slope at Polmonthill Ski Centre.
Polmonthill Ski Centre

We took the long, scenic route from Livi to Polmont where they have a cool wee dry ski slope. We pretty much had the place to ourselves today. We’ve been training hard for months and I did a bit of positive visualisation last night too. In consequence I skied like a demon! Teo, my coach, was well impressed.

Lovely as Polmont slope is, they have a hellish ski tow there. It works really hard to rip your arms off at the sockets. What with that and the heat I quit after 12 runs to rest and re-hydrate. Teo did a few more then came in too.

To mark my skiing prowess and newly acquired clan affiliation, we returned to Livi for a celebratory – yet healthy and salad filled – chicken kebab. After hanging out with Teo in the sunshine for a while I headed home.

my t-shirt

On the way I was stopped by a nice wee drunk man in an underpass. He wanted to know what my t-shirt meant. I told him “Keep calm and speak Gaelic”. We had a pleasant conversation about the need for Gaelic teaching in schools and languages in general. I taught him to say ‘Feasgar math!’. He was quite drunk.

I could have communed with my sofa when I got home but instead I picked up my scraper and had a go at the loose paint on the garage door. I scraped away until the light faded. Tomorrow I shall start the re-painting!

Today was not an epic or exciting day by any means. It was just good. A nice, fun filled, constructive and very, very good day.

2 thoughts on “A good day”

Leave a Reply

